Home > Uncategorized > My SharePoint Conference 2011 Sessions

My SharePoint Conference 2011 Sessions


We have just recently put another SharePoint Conference behind us. Like many of you, I made the trip out to Anaheim, CA. This was my first SharePoint conference and I was fortunate to have been selected to deliver two sessions:

SPC367: Managing LOB Data with BCS & SharePoint Search

SPC385: Service Application Federation with SharePoint 2010

 

Most of my demos are typically done on my 16 GB laptop, but after the demo gods frowned on me at SharePoint Saturday the Conference in Washington DC, I knew I needed to change the way I demoed my sessions. I ended up taking my sessions to the cloud. I ended up trusting both of my sessions to Rackspace and came armed with a 4G wireless internet adapter just in case the Convention Center lost my internet. My first session was delivered right after the Keynote and had over 700 people in it. The session required 3 servers:

 

  • SPC-AD – 4 GB, hosted Active Directory
  • SPC-SQL – 8 GB, hosted SQL Server 2008 R2 and SharePoint Designer
  • SPC-Services – 8 GB, hosted SharePoint 2010

 

During this session, I created an External Content Type using SharePoint Designer 2010 and provisioned BCS, Enterprise Search, and Secure Store. The goal of the demos was to take data from an SQL Database (AdventureWorks) and surface it in Search results. While the demo wasn’t as smooth as I would have hoped, it was ultimately successful and my evaluations were great!

 


 

 

My second session required a little more horsepower:

 

  • SPC-AD – 4 GB, hosted Active Directory
  • SPC-SQL – 8 GB, hosted SQL Server 2008 R2 and SharePoint Designer
  • SPC-Services – 8 GB, hosted SharePoint 2010 (Publishing Farm)
  • SPC-SP – 8 GB, hosted SharePoint 2010 (Consumer Farm)

 

During this session, I created two SharePoint Farms from scratch. There were no service accounts or SharePoint databases. I used PowerShell to create the farms, the accounts, and all of the services that can be federated:

  • Managed Metadata
  • Web Analytics
  • Business Connectivity Services
  • Enterprise Search
  • Secure Store
  • User Profile Application with Sync

I needed peak performance or I was going to suffer a catastrophic demo. Fortunately for me and the attendees who came to my session, Rackspace delivered again. The demo went perfect and my session made the top 20 of the entire show. It was a great conference!

I have found that Rackspace offers a stable service and I basically just bet my future speaking engagements on it. Thank you Rackspace!!!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

